By 10 we had packed up the car and shortly after we were on the highway and headed for Squamish. It was raining/misting a little bit but not too bad. There was some low level cloud and a little bit of fog.
When we got into Squamish we stopped at the Walmart so that J could pick up some shampoo that she discovered during a previous trip. We were going to have lunch at the Whotespot but it was really busy even at 11. In Whistler there was a Muderella race in which there must have been a quite a few of those racers in there.
The leaving Squamish there was a noticeable increase in the amount of traffic. I got a ticket for speeding going 125 in a 80 or 90 zone. Not sure exactly. I was sure that it was going to be a huge ticket but it only cost me 197$ and 25$ less if I paid it by a certain time.
There rest of the trip I took extreme care to make sure that I stayed at the speed limit or close to it. J put on the nav to help us navigate to a store in West Van that she wanted to visit. After that we went to Park Royal to go to White Spot to eat some lunch. J also wanted to do some shopping so I headed over to WS to get a table. I ate lunch without J as I was getting hangery.
While I was waiting for J, I discovered some free courses put on by Harvard. I got through the first video lecture before we got to the ferry. You can pay 90$ US to get a certificate but it doesn't matter to me. I intend on going through the whole course. It is called CS50.
On the way to the ferry we were getting low on gas so we decided to pull off before the ferry causeway into Tswassen. We filled up on gas and got to the ferry terminal shortly after 4 to discover that the 5 pm ferry was delayed because of engine problems until 6. We pulled up in lane 35 and waited.
For a coupe of seconds until J decided to go into the terminal to check it out and go to the restroom. We walked the the southern most end of the terminal. J got a yogurt from Starbucks and a piece of banana bread. We headed back to the car after that as the terminal was busy and there was way too many people milling around.
I was able to watch 3 or 4 season three episodes of The Americans during our wait for the ferry. Finally at around 6 the lines of cars started to move to our right. Then another and another line of cars. Our line didn't move for a long time and we were wondering if we were going to make it on this one. We did. But not on the upper decks, we were in the bowls of the ferry with all the big trucks.
We headed straight up to the cafeteria. J got in line. I wasn't that hungry so I found us a seat. Sometimes when it's busy the seats fill up and by the time you have your food they are all gone. Well there was plenty of seats and I ended up eating a salmon burger knowing it would be late by the time we got home.
By 8:15 or so we had docked in Swartz Bay. The road was busy as usual with cars from the ferry. We went straight to Thrifties so that J could get some food for lunch.
We when arrived home I unloaded the car. I managed to get all of my stuff unpacked and suitcases out away before I headed to bed. J has a clinic on Salt Spring tomorrow so she goes to be as soon as she gets in.
No comments:
Post a Comment